Blenheim Musical Theatre logo

Past & Present Shows

Click on the decade to see the shows

The Sound of Music

24 Apr 1971 to 01 May 1971

Marlborough Boys College

The Von Trapp Family Robin Sutherland - Captain von Trapp Jill Rodgerson - Maria cimg4357.jpg Chris Henderson - Max
Val Dredge - Elsa Margaret Hastings - Mother Abbess, Ruth Mercier - Sister Margaretta, Bernice Sutherland - Sister Berthe, Vivienne Hughes - Sister Sophia Malcolm Reed - Rolf and the two Liesl Heather-Anne Campbell and Kaye Patterson Nazis - Brian Collings, Ian Dredge, Malcolm Reed Andrew Grigg - Franz, Peter Wells - Herr Zeller, Lol Harrison - Frau Schmidt

Creative Team

Artistic Director – June Harrison
Musical Director – Max Noad
Choreographer – Betty Campbell
Set Design – H Tootell
Sound Director – Sid Jago


Maria – Jill Rodgerson
Mother Abbess – Margaret Hastings
Sister Berthe – Bernice Sutherland
Sister Margaretta – Ruth Mercier
Sister Sophia – Viv Hughes
Capt. Georg Von Trapp – Robin Sutherland
Franz – Andrew Grigg
Frau Schmidt – Lol Harrison
Liesl – Heather-Anne Ritchie, Kay Patterson
Friedrich – David Rees, Owen Workman
Louisa – Janet Budgeon, Suzanne Page
Brigitta – Jenny Hammond, Vivienne Staples
Kurt – Peter Roughan, Peter Wishnowsky
Marta – Elizabeth Munro, Tracey Hammond
Gretl – Glenys Catley, Tamara Henry
Rolf Gruber – Malcolm Reed
Elsa Schraeder – Val Dredge
Max Detweiler – Chris Henderson
Herr Zeller – Peter Wells
Baron Elberfeld – Phil Webster
Baroness Elberfeld – Judith Marshall
Admiral Von Schrieber – Ken Arthur
Postulant – Diane Perry
Ursula – Martha Nist
Adjudicator – Ada Price, Fred Price, Loma Knight, Marilyn Radd
Third Prize Winner – Bob Marks, Karen Bourke
Second Prize Winner – Jocelyn Knight
Nazi – Brian Collings, Ian Dredge
Chorus – Gary Stockley


A Beverley, A Symonds, A.p. Inglis, Allan Cookson, Arthur Powell, B Hutcheson, B Mead, Dave Beaumont, Derek Dean, E Robinson, Elizabeth Paterson, G Sutherland, Ivy Mills, John Beattie, John Lewis, L.k. Mitchell, Miriam Law, Norma Aitken, R Harris, R Wass, Rod Wilkes, Roy Henry, W.g. Horrocks

Production Team

Stage Manager – A.H.W (Bert) Ham
Publicity – Barry Hughes, Bob Tapp, Dave Aitken, Geddes Campbell, Terence Burtenshaw
Asst Stage Manager – Mike Sowman
Stage Crew – Bob Marks, Graeme Holland, Ian Light, Les Aberhart, Paul James, Warwick Ward
Lighting Crew – Don Crooks, Geoffrey Jenkins, Jack Soar, Robin Barnes
Wardrobe Manager – Trish Burtenshaw
Wardrobe Assistant – Anne Jones, Jo Healy, Josephine Burtenshaw, Martha Nist, Maureen Waters, Sue Tapp, Wendy Inder
Properties Director – Barbara Fleming
Properties Assistant – Betty Williams, Lorraine Sadd, Mary Gardiner
Makeup Director – Eunice Neal
Makeup Assistant – Chris Watson, Keith Pask, Miriam McNabb, Ngaire Sidaway, Nola Healy, Trevor Harle, Val Blennerhassett, Val Hallett
Asst House Manager – Geddes Campbell
House Manager – Gerry Gamble
Prompt – Anne Hyndman
Call – Brenda Woodward, Ted Woodward
Programme – Barry Hughes, Graeme Holland, Ian Dredge, Robin Sutherland
Company Suppers – Beth Light, Jo Healy, Sue Tapp
Ticket Sales – Barry Hughes, Bob Tapp, Dave Aitken, Geddes Campbell, Terence Burtenshaw
Electrician – Jack Soar

Contact details...

Postal Address:



Blenheim Musical Theatre Inc.
PO Box 383
Blenheim 7240
Premises: 03 578-4110
After Hours: 03 579-4122
Secretary: 021 142-5736

Our upcoming production...

Featured photo

Some blasts from the past...

From the production of Ladies for Hire. From the production of The Sound of Music. From the production of Cabaret. From the production of Les Mis.

Check out more photos from our Previous Shows...

© 2018 Blenheim Musical Theatre Inc. W3C XHTML 1.0  W3C CSS  Website by Solletec Web Solutions